How to change your body

Standard

Happy Tuesday three days until Spring Break! Prior to getting into the bulk of this post let me share a brag and a funny story! I am not a crafty person, but I actually did something crafty. Check it out! 006

I actually made these tulle bows and attached pastel plastic eggs to them! I got the idea from a local store and each bow had a pricetag of $49! The materials for both bows cost me under $8! Anyway, I stupidly hung those on the door last night before a major storm front came through. Welllll, I came home from school this afternoon and one bow was in the middle of the driveway and the other was MIA. I went on a search for the missing bow and actually followed a trail of the plastic eggs! I seriously never would have found it (four houses down the road and caught behind the air unit on the side of the house) without the trail of eggs! Anyway, sadly that’s probably the most exciting thing that happened to me today. I did the normal….teach a million group ex classes (ok, 6), teach seniors, run some errands between school and the gym, had a SkoolPad teleconference, cooked dinner for Philip (venison sausage rigatoni) and did 100 loads of laundry (ok, 3). That’s enough about my typical Tuesday….lets talk about what I talk about best….diet and exercise.

I actually weigh to the ounce what I weighed my junior year of high school (when I stopped growing); however, my body is completely different. I have been athletic my entire life, but my body type didn’t change until my late 20s. I’ve always been a runner, moderate weight lifter, avid group exercise fan, and healthy eater, but those aren’t what caused my body to go from thin to lean. Here’s what I think catalyzed my body change since I didn’t suddenly become active or totally alter my diet.

*Disclaimer….I am not writing this post for those people that are beginning an exercise plan. They may find this information helpful, but this target audience are for athletic people that are ready to take their body to the next level. I am not talking about changing your body type or spot training. Everyone will lose fat differently, so please never aim to “look” like someone else. Simply decide to change your current routine and let your body respond in the way it’s physiologically destined.

1) Change your mindset. You will never remain committed to a routine until you are emotionally and psychologically are ready. It may take you several months to reach this point, but once you do everything else will be much easier. I am a full believer in the power of your mind. If you envision your body looking a certain way (within reason) then you will reach your goals!

2) Change your macronutrient consumption. Do not eliminate a macronutrient, but change your consumption percentages. It’s going to take several months to find what works for you. Do not mimic someone else’s diet! Find what works for yourself. You need to find a percentage that keeps you full and your glucose levels stabilized. I find keeping a food journal (myfitnesspal.com) ideal for monitoring daily diets, recording my energy levels post meals, and macronutrient breakdowns.

3) Stop eating CRAP. C: cardboard/canned foods (packaged foods), R: refined sugars, A: artificial foods and sugars, P: processed foods. If it has more than one ingredient then don’t eat it. This may seem extreme, but it’s effective. Keep in mind that diet is 90% of the fitness/health equation.

4) Get uncomfortable!!! I scream (in a loving manner)  this statement to my group exercise class participants at least three times per class. I internally chant this during my personal workouts. This statement summarizes everything I could write about varying your workout routine. There is no point in saying exercise A or running X miles changed my body. No! What changed my body was totally changing how I exercised. I simply got uncomfortable. I killed myself doing sprint intervals on the treadmill rather than running at a happy pace. I lifted heavier weights. I increased the length of my plyometric circuits. You get the idea. I sweated my butt off and took on the mentality that comfort is for the couch, not the gym.

5) Remain active all day. I read a study a few years ago about the “type” of people who reach the government recommended 10,000 steps per day. Ready to be shocked?! The non-gym goers hit the goal, not the gym rats! It is believed that gym-goers have the mentality that they “deserve” or “can be” lazy for a majority of the day as long as they hit the gym for their hour session. Wrong! Honestly, I never sit still (it’s just not my personality), but investing in a FitBit (more on this in a future post) really pushed me to “beat” my daily step record. Does this seem obsessive? Maybe, but walking an additional seven miles a day in my classroom definitely didn’t hurt me! Get your friends involved as well. Your daily step results (and so much more) can be uploaded to the FitBit website where you can compete with your friends.

There is so much conflicting data and ridiculous advise available to people on this topic. You have to determine what works best for your body and be patient while the changes occur. It took my body three months before it visibly changed. All good things are worth the wait.

All right, strangers, what are your thoughts? If you desire to change your body or are in the process of doing so, what is restraining you? If you have made a successful change do you have a #6 (or more) to add to my list?

2 responses »

  1. I think I struggle a lot with being active all day. It’s super hard when you have a desk job. I make an effort to get in 45 mins – 1 hr of exercise about 4-5 times a week, but it would help SO much if I could get in more movement during my 8 hour workday!

    • UGH, yes, ppl w/ desk jobs do have it hard. You just have to do what’s always suggested….take the stairs, use the restroom located in the farthest part of the building, stand when you are on the phone, deliver msg in person, etc, etc. SUCKS!

Leave a Reply

