Our Big News!

Standard

051

Jeremiah 29:11 says, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Philip and I know that God has great plans for us and we have felt led by Him to pursue domestic, infant adoption. I am an extremely private person (probably to a fault at times) and I usually prefer to keep my personal life just that…personal (aside from my three best friends and my immediate family). The process of adoption is forcing me to change my ways and I am (slowly) realizing that change is not a bad thing. As I have alluded in previous posts, the more people I have shared this information with the more blessings have been bestowed upon us. I have felt pressure from God to share this news with all of our friends, families, neighbors, co-workers, acquaintances, and Internet strangers sooner rather than later. I truly hope that leaving my comfort zone will be yet another blessing.

Philip and I have been undergoing the domestic, infant adoption process since summer 2012. We are currently working with Bethany Christian Services (BCS) out of Mississippi, but we are looking into two other companies in neighboring states. We have been “active” with Bethany for several months, which means that we passed all our drug tests, federal background checks, and medical exams. Our house and pets passed multiple inspections and the stability of our marriage has been analyzed on numerous occasions. It’s all just a part of the very invasive process. Once our home study and psychological exams were completed we were able to make a family profile and share our story through the BSC website. A portion of it may be viewed here. We also made an amazing profile book that will be shown to potential birthmothers. The birthmother uses the profile book to choose the perfect couple for the adopted baby. I would love to share the book with anyone who would like to see it!

Philip and I have no idea how long of a wait God is going to give us. Seven years has been a long wait, but He may want us to continue to wait or he may answer our prayers next week. We will have 24 hour notice to prepare for the baby. Yes, that’s crazy and people that know me know that I don’t function well without a plan. Once again, this process is forcing me to change and I am actually okay not having a plan. This is the primary reason we decided to use BSC. They complete of all the “behind the scenes” work. I will never go through the heartache of knowing if we were chosen by a birthmother, yet to only have her change her mind moments before the child is born. I am a strong person, but I do know my limits.

We are not limited to a child in our state since BCS is a nation-wide company. Our profile is visible to potential birthmothers across the country and we will quickly hop on a plane if we get the call travel to get our baby. We also are not limited to BCS.  If anyone reading this feels moved to share our story we would appreciate it. You could be the one to connect us to our birthmother and child. Since our home study and profile are complete, we can transition easily into another adoption company or even a private adoption. Use your resources, people! This is why I am breaking out of my reserved shell! 😉

We are currently referring to our baby as “Baby B”. While we don’t know the gender (we have no preference) we do have names selected. We chose the names a decade ago and the first name will begin with a B regardless of the gender! Curious!? 😉 We are currently having two fundraisers to assist us in the insanely expensive cost of adoption. 100% of the purchase of a Colleen’s Creation is going towards our Baby B fund. In fact, thank you to everyone who has purchased a sweet treat from me during the past year. You all contributed to bringing home Baby B without even knowing it. Thank you for allowing me to do something I enjoy while making our dreams come true. We have also turned the picture at the top of this post into a large, 1000 piece puzzle. We are “selling” puzzle pieces for $5 and will write the names of all buyers on the back of the pieces. Once the puzzle is complete it will be hung in a double-glass frame allowing us to view the names of everyone that helped bring  Baby B into our lives. BTW, the wreath in the picture was made by one of my great friends as a gift for Baby B. It is currently hanging on the nursery door. So, will you be a “piece” of our  puzzle?

I will continue to update this very new blog with Baby B information, fundraiser praises, and my normal cardio and cooking creations. I would love for you to add me to your reader and leave a comment. If you made it to the end of this post you deserve an award…maybe a cake pop! 😉  Thank you for your prayers and support during this waiting period in our lives.

 Love, Colleen & Philip

049

9 responses »

  1. Awww, this is wonderful!!!! I loved reading your story 🙂 It is going to be so exciting when you finally get “the call!”

    I don’t know why, but I always get excited when I find a blogger that lives in the South, too! 🙂

    Jeremiah 29:11 is one of my favorites…so important to remember in tough times!

  2. YAY!!! So excited to see you posting your amazing news!!! Ya’ll are so precious, and I can’t wait to see the child that God has chosen for your family! This journey of adoption is such a beautiful time to see God move and hear Him speak like never before! He is so good and SO FAITHFUL!!! We love ya’ll!

  3. I am so happy and excited for you and Philip!! So happy you have included us in your journey!!

    Love you both,

    Karen

  4. Omg!!!!! I walked through this wait with y’all years ago. I can’t tell you how happy I am for you and Phillip. You have been and will continue to be in my prayers. What a blessing your story of faith will be to so many others. I’m just thrilled!!!!! Congratulations. I’ll buy a puzzle and a cake too! Can you tell me how to pay you? I could drop in your mailbox…I’m sure you already know of Craig Robertson’s organization 200 Million Flowers. If not, check it out. They are doing amazing things. Take care sweet friend. Btw…Hayden still asks about you all the time.

    • Elizabeth!!! It’s wonderful to hear from you! Thank you for the prayers and support. Tell beautiful HayRay “hey”! I would love to make ya’ll a cake. Just tell me what you want–I can do whatever and decorate it however. I can make it as “healthy” as ya’ll want (sugarless, etc). I truly appreciate it. Leaving a check in our mailbox is great! Thank you, again, sweet friend. HUGS!

  5. Colleen!!!! First CONGRATULATIONS on the blog! How very exciting that you started one and now I cannot wait to read yours whenever you post! I know you are such a genuine, caring, sweet person and I truly look forward to reading whatever you have to write about here 🙂
    Anddddd heck congrats again on this! Wow what an exciting time for you and Phlip! Thank you for continuing to sharing your story, again, looking forward to reading more 😀

    • Tessa!!! Omg I feel famous that you replied on my little blog!! Lol!!! Thanks! I’m def newbie, but have been wanting to do this for a while. Thanks for the inspiration! Also, thanks for the congrats. It’s a HUGEEE event in our lives. 😃

Leave a Reply

