Adventure Friends

Standard

Friends are the best therapy. Last week started terrible and ended with the unimaginable–my sweet, precious Abby (cat) passed away. I’m not even close to being able to accept it yet, but my friends have really helped me during this sad time. They’ve been taking care of me all week and we spent all day Saturday together.

MudRun

So, we did the Warrior Dash Saturday morning and had a blast!!!! This was the 4th WD for some of us. For those that don’t know, Warrior Dash is a 5k mud run with obstacles scattered throughout the run.We usually try to make the WD event into a weekend trip in a fun city, but this past weekend the event came to our city. Absolutely anyone can do it, but if you want to be serious about it you need 1) to be able to run at least a 5k and 2) upper body strength!

Our first WD together!

Our first WD together!

A few of us at 2013 WD!

A few of us at 2013 WD!

It’s a fun run and I enjoy doing it with my friends rather than going full speed with it. I do not carry a phone/camera with me during the run, but here are some google images of common WD obstacles.

WDrope            WDmud

WD is known for their final obstacle….the fire leap!!

WDfire

My 2nd WD!

This year’s WD was more difficult than previous year’s WD. The company has stepped up their game and I enjoyed the extra challenge. I have done the Tough Mudder and LOVED it. LOVED. It was the most awesome thing I’ve ever done. Is that sad?  Yes, I’m a freak. Tough Mudder is a 13 mile, 40 obstacle Mud Run that you HAVE to do with a team. It is a serious physical and mental challenge. I am already planning my next TM…. Yes, addict….why I am addicted to freezing water, barb wire, electrocution, fire, miles of mud, and insane terrain is beyond me. I have a problem love a challenge.

Anyway, WD modeled some of this year’s obstacles after TM in that it required team work to get up some of the high walls and out of the deep mud pits. Most people weren’t expecting this, so they were running WD solo. Big mistake! They were stuck and reliant on strangers to hoist/pull them. Heck, I was reliant on some strange guys to throw me over some of the walls Saturday. Yeh, Philip also does WD…but I leave him to follow my muddy footprints! 😉  No, he will never do a TM with me! Luckily, he fully understands supports my adventure race addiction love.

IMG_2475     IMG_2472

Since we didn’t leave the city for the race we decided to have an after party at our house—crawfish boil style.

IMG_0621

Cody was really intrigued by the crawfish!

IMG_0623

It was a lot of fun and the party went on well into the night! Some of the guys had to take a nap halfway through the party…..pitiful….

IMG_2476

Can’t hang anymore….

It was a really fun day and I appreciate all my friends that added to the great memories! WD 2014…here we come!

One response »

  1. I’m so sorry about your cat, Colleen. I have two that I consider my babies and can’t imagine how hard that is. Thank God for good friends. 🙂 Looks like the WD was really fun!

Leave a Reply

