WIAW & WOW #11

Standard
WIAW & WOW #11

Finallyyyyyy….school is out!!! Izzy and I have been busy cleaning the house, replying to month old e-mails, and grocery shopping/unloading during my first few days of summer. Speaking of e-mails….a lot of you ask me in person or through e-mail about how to get blog updates (rather than noticing them in your FB and twitter feeds). On the right side bar on the homepage there is a “Follow me” widget under the “Follow Blog via E-mail” caption. Click on that widget and enter your info. I know that my life is so exciting that you want to do that….

IMG_2840 IMG_2841IMG_2864

We’ve also made a few new slow cooker meals….

WIAWbutton

Actually, I started the meal in my slowcooker and then completed it in my panini grill pan. Ohhhh, fancy!!!

images

Slowcooker Chicken Cheesteak Panini

Philip loves Philly Cheesteaks (that may or may not be one of his nicknames)….so he definitely approved of this healthified (yes, it’s a word) version! It was something very different for us. Give it a try and modify as needed–the broiler of you oven would work just fine if you want to eat this meal in a wrap, but lack a panini type pan.

While we are on the topic of food…….. frozen grapes! WHAT?!?!?  Why hasn’t anyone told me about doing this!?!??! AMAZING.

IMG_2865

Moving on to Work Out Wednesday….Lets discuss running!

images

Well, actually lets discuss this streaking challenge! I participated in this streak  over the holidays and am up for it again! Most of you know that if a challenge is presented to me I am hooked…   It’s a serious slight problem….

Runner’s World Summer Run Streak 2013

From Memorial Day to Independence Day run at least one mile, every day.

Media: RW Summer Running Streak 2012

Per RW: It’s that time of year again. Many of you have completed your spring goal races, and training for fall races doesn’t start for another month or two. Summer is also around the corner and the beach, ice cream, BBQs, and vacations are likely calling your name, giving you countless reasons to skip out on runs.

But don’t panic! Runner’s World is bringing back the Run Streak to help people bridge the gap and maintain spring fitness through the summer. RW is challenging participants to run at least one mile per day, every day, starting on Memorial Day (Monday, 5/27) and ending on Independence Day (Thursday, 7/4). That’s 39 consecutive days of running.

If you finish the streak, you’ll have access to the coveted RW Run Streak finisher’s badge. Happy streaking!

RW had their first streak during this past holiday season. I thought it was a great idea to keep people on track during the most indulgent wonderful time of the year. I was surprised to receive the summer streak e-mail today. Personally, I don’t lack exercise motivation during the summer. I actually love running at noon in July. Yep…again…

images

The dead of winter (terrible third nine weeks in “teach talk”) is when I struggle with the workout motivation. Yes, I do have to workout since it’s my job, but getting my butt outside to run Cody is not an easy feat. 

images

Anyway, we are all different and maybe you struggle with summertime workouts. Perhaps the streak will motivate you!! No excuses!! I swear I can hear the excuses circulating in your brain right now….”but I’ll be at the beach”, “but I don’t run”, “but I’ve got an entire day of airline traveling”. Excuses!!! You know I’ll bust them all………walk the airport for 10 minutes while waiting on your flight, walk the beach, etc, etc.  Just streak do it! !

images

Come on, people?!! Who’s in!?!? (Yes, we are a couple of days late…NBD. Get outside NOW)!

2 responses »

  1. I’m so jealous that you’re out of school! I still have a few more weeks left until I get out of college- I can’t wait! Izzy is SO cute! I’m a huge cat lover so her antics make me smile 🙂

  2. Happy last day of school! Man, I’m jealous!! You must post pictures of all your summer fun so the rest of us can live vicariously through you! Have fun streaking through the summer. If your students only knew what you were up to, ha ha 😛

Leave a Reply

